Inspired Essex Magazine

Your local Business & lifestyle magazine

Chef’s Special – a recipe from Simon Jury


My friends are always asking me where the inspiration for my cooking comes from. It comes from books, the internet, talking to chefs on Twitter, eating out and visiting a lot of food festival s so I get to meet the chefs. I rarely follow a recipe, preferring to use them to guide me, finding out which flavours go together and then doing my own thing, especially after a day at work to help me unwind.

A recent favourite meal started with me looking at recipes involving chicken and figs, two things I needed to use up. I found quite a few recipes including dried figs as a stuffing and using Marsala wine. This was all I needed to then know what I was going to make and I’m happy to share the recipe with you.

Chicken Roasted with Figs

Chicken roasted with figs and Madeira – Serves 4 people.

Ingredients:

  • 4 Chicken portions of your choice.
  • One large glass of Madeira.
  • 6 figs, halved.
  • Salt, pepper and ready mixed Moroccan spices.

Method: Put a little oil in a roasting dish, place the chicken portions and fig halves in the tray, pour over half of the Madeira and a little more oil. Season and add some Moroccan spices. Roast the oven for about 45 minutes at gas mark 7 if using legs or 30 minutes for breasts. With boned portions you may want to seal these off before roasting to help them cook. I served this with roasted sliced vegetables, potatoes, onions & courgettes which can go in the same time as the chicken if you slice the vegetables thinly. I made a quick tomato sauce to go with the dish using half a pint of vegetable stock, the remaining Madeira and enough passata to thicken it up. Season to taste and add sugar if needed. Now it’s your turn to take the idea and do what you want with it. I hope you enjoy it.

Read more of Simon’s words of foodie wisdom at: http://simonlovesfood.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 14, 2011 by in Dine in Style and tagged , .
