Inspired Essex Magazine

Your local Business & lifestyle magazine

Essex and the not-so single girl


Essex and the not-so single girl

Well, if you haven’t noticed already, it’s nearly Valentine’s Day and you’d be forgiven for thinking that the only colour shops were allowed to display in their windows was red. It’s all about the pink fluffy hearts and soppy declarations of love…but spare a thought, you loved up masses, for those who are single on the big V-Day.

I know I’m one of the loved-up masses myself these days, and Valentine’s Day is just going to be fun. I don’t know if we’re doing the cards and presents thing yet, when I jokingly mentioned big expensive gifts he muttered something about saving for our holiday in March so I’m not pushing it. But I expect there will at least be a card.

This time last year I was single and getting a bit fed up with it. So Valentine’s Day was just a reminder of the fact I was going to be sitting indoors alone with a DVD on the night where everyone else seems to be coupled-up. I decided not to let the constant adverts for cosy nights in, chocolates, wine and everything romantic get the better of me…I went to the local supermarket, bought MYSELF some flowers, wine and chocolate and I spent the whole evening watching chick flicks.

Don’t even ask about the year before. I got stood up half an hour before I was due to go on a date with someone, he texted me to say he had a hangover just as I was leaving to meet him! How rude!

Anyway…to all of you – have a great day. And if you haven’t got anyone to spoil you, do what I did and spoil yourself! Go on…you’re worth it…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 6, 2012 by in Chatty, Essex and the Not-so-Single Girl, Inspirational Musings, Ladies Time Out.
