Inspired Essex Magazine

Your local Business & lifestyle magazine

Zero-effort weight loss…


Everyone has an Achilles’ heel, and with me it’s always been my weight. I’ve done every diet you can imagine, from the Slim Fast (with its accompanying unpleasant side effects) to ‘Eat Yourself Slim’, Weightwatchers, Slimming World and everything in between. A few years ago I vowed to give up on dieting as the only time in recent years that I’ve managed to lose anything was when I separated from my ex-husband and replaced food with wine for a few weeks.  I felt dreadful but you wouldn’t believe how many compliments I got on my weight loss!

Anyway, being editor of Inspired has its perks and towards the end of last year I was approached by the A&L Clinic in Ipswich, who wanted to offer me an opportunity to sample some of their services. They offer dentistry, cosmetic and otherwise, along with conscious sedation for dentist-phobics. Also on offer is Botox and cosmetic fillers, which weren’t appealing, but one thing did catch my eye. Among the other services was a hypnotherapist called Patricia Pajak who did ‘hypno-gastric band’ therapy. I decided it would be great to find out a bit more and an appointment was arranged.

Patricia has been practising hypnotherapy for some years, and has a list of qualifications as long as my arm, but she told me she’s been particularly successful with her weight loss related hypnotherapies, which include the gastric band. We decided not to attempt that on me, although it was an option, and instead Patricia offered to try her ‘option 2’ which is a mixture of hypnotherapy, Cognitive Behavioural Therapy, Neuro-linguistic programming and psychotherapy. Well I figured something would stick!

So, it’s early days and there’s a lot of homework, but at the moment we’re just getting to grips with when and why I overeat (boredom and stress seem to be clear winners) and talking me out of doing it. There’s lots of homework, including listening to a short hypnotherapy CD every day and keeping a food diary – but she is confident she can get me my figure back with a little bit of work on both sides. I’ll keep you posted!

www.aandlclinics.com/

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 6, 2012 by in Beauty & Wellbeing, Chatty, Ladies Time Out and tagged , , .
